Celebrating Fall

photo(10)Fall is one of the most amazing times of year out here in the wine country.  The vines turn colors that rival the most beautiful sunsets.  It is surely a special season providing much to celebrate.

It also gives the perfect reason to teach two little boys about the season.  Yesterday, my 4 year old was looking up at the trees in the backyard.  He was looking in wonder watching the leaves dance to the ground.  Red, yellow, orange and brown – our backyard is such a gorgeous palate.

So, there’s no better time to bring the colors inside.   At least that’s what we’ve done.  I had my boys collect their favorite leaves and then arrange them on our dining room table.  Watching them do it was the most insightful experience.  My older son decided to sort the leaves into colors prior to placing them on the white cotton tablecloth.  He then arranged them by size and placed them neatly in a straight line all the way around.  My nearly 2 year old son, piled them in a heap.  Developmentally I’m not sure what the relevance is of their two different organizing strategies.  But I think that the end result  is a masterpiece representing both of their visions of how the leaves should be.  In my world, it’s perfection to say the least.

At the end of the day though, the leaves are just a reminder of how gorgeous the world is around us.  By pointing it out to my boys, as they get older, hopefully they’ll take time to smell the roses or watch the leaves dance to the ground.   Have you done it lately?  I urge you to try it.

For more thoughts, kids arts projects and ideas on fall, and recipes check out my other blog at modernmamamary.com.

Leave a Reply

